Cleveland Orchestra Concert Juxtaposes Work by Berg and Schubert

Photo by Roger Mastroianni

The Cleveland Orchestra is doing something a little different for its upcoming concerts. Instead of presenting obscure, offbeat or different music, it’s presenting the music in a different way.

The three movements of Alban Berg’s 1926 Lyric Suite will be interspersed with the two movements from 1822 Franz Schubert’s Symphony No. 8 in B minor (“Unfinished”), which as the name assigned to it suggested, were the only two movements he completed.  The program concludes with Schubert’s Mass No. 6 in E-flat minor, which he completed in the year of his death, 1828.

“Through this fascinating juxtaposition, spanning more than a century, Schubert’s pioneering artistry and Berg’s latent romanticism are brought into illuminating relief,” says the Orchestra’s description of the concert.

Music director Franz Welser-Möst will conduct the concert, which features soprano
Joélle Harvey, nmezzo-soprano Daryl Freedman, tenors Julian Prégardien and
Martin Mitterrutzner ad bass-baritone Dashon Burton, along with the Cleveland Orchestra Chorus.

Go here for tickets.



Post categories:

Source link

Tags: No tags

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *