Stephen Marley Taps Eric Clapton, Bob Weir and More on New


Stephen Marley Taps Eric Clapton, Bob Weir and More on New LP ‘Old Soul,’ Shares “Cool As The Breeze”

Today, Stephen Marley has announced the release of a new album, Old Soul, due on September 15, 2023. The new material boasts special guest appearances from Eric Clapton, Bob Weir, Jack Johnson, Ziggy Marley, Damian “Jr. Gong” Marley, Buju Banton and Slightly Stoopid. In support of the set, the musician has shared the song “Cool As The Breeze.” 

Old Soul represents Stephen’s first full-length project since 2016 and explores a rich tapestry of cultures and genres. The song selection on the new album demonstrates the artist’s ability to defy the expected. “You have to be true to yourself,” he remarked via press release. “I refuse to be put into any category. I am inspired by everything. So if I feel like I want to play some jazz music, I will go play some jazz music. Who dig it, dig it.”

On the LP, Stephen and his elder brother Ziggy collaborate on “There’s A Reward,” a heartfelt homage to Joe Higgs, the man who mentored young Bob Marley, Peter Tosh, and Bunny Wailer when they were all aspiring singers in Trenchtown. Elsewhere, Stephen’s younger brother Damian “Jr. Gong” Marley assists with “Cast The First Stone,” a powerful tune set to an ominous groove that evokes a sense of a lost spaghetti Western soundtrack.

The artist also enlists the help of old friend Buju Banton on the ska-flavored “Thanks We Get (Do Fi Dem),” a Lee “Scratch” Perry composition made famous by Junior Byles. And Kyle McDonald of Slightly Stoopid joins on a verse on “Standing In Love.” In addition, Clapton adds guitar riffs to an acoustic take on the classic “I Shot The Sheriff.” 

On the album’s final number, Stephen worked alongside Weir on “Winding Roads,” which was recorded at the Grateful Dead guitarist’s famed TRI Studios, along with his Wolf Bros band, including Don Was, Jeff Chimenti and Jay Lane, and is the only song on Old Soul recorded with a full band.

“We definitely did want some different sounds,” offered Stephen. “We never want to come with the same ray ray ray. We try to make some of them something you can’t really identify. Ah, just music.” Among the more unexpected selections on Old Soul is a sweet cover of Sinatra’s “These Foolish Things (Reminds Me Of You),” as well as a take on The Beatles’ “Don’t Let Me Down.”

In celebration of the new album, Stephen will embark on an ambitious Old Soul Tour–Unplugged 2023, beginning on September 9 in Indianapolis. Learn more and purchase tickets via the artist’s official website.

Pre-order Old Soul. Listen to “Cool As The Breeze” below.

Old Soul Tracklist: 

1. Don’t You Believe

2. Cool As The Breeze

3. Cast The First Stone – Feat. Damian “Jr. Gong” Marley

4. Thanks We Get (Do Fi Dem) – Feat. Buju Banton

5. Don’t Let Me Down

6. Georgia On My Mind

7. Let The Children Play

8. Old Soul

9. There’s A Reward – Feat. Ziggy Marley

10. This Time

11. These Foolish Things (Reminds Me Of You)

12. I Shot The Sheriff – Feat. Eric Clapton

13. Standing In Love – Feat. Slightly Stoopid

14. Winding Roads – Feat. Jack Johnson and Bobby Weir & Wolf Bros

Source link

Comments are closed.